+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help with a complicated friendship?

Help with a complicated friendship?

I hope I'm in the right section of the site for this. I also apologize for this being so long, but I feel the information is essential to understanding our relationship.

My best friend and I have never actually dated (not on a normal definition of the term anyway) in the 4 years that we've known each other. We met online (on myspace) when I was 18 and in my last semester of high school, and he was 23. We flirted online a lot before graduating to talking on the phone and then within just a week of talking on the phone we met in person. Before we met we'd stay up all night talking and talking and talking. 6 and 7 hours at a time some nights. To the point that I almost failed my last semester of high school (and I was an A student before this) from lack of sleep. We ended up having sex the second time we met. Over the next 3 months (going into the summer before my first year of University) we continued talking and seeing each other as much as possible. Sometimes we'd spend all day chatting online, then talking on the phone all night with seeing each other thrown in on occasion. I, honestly, thought at the time that we were "dating", but I soon found out that he had a girlfriend that lived about an hour away. They were having problems, so I decided to stick around in case something happened between them even though they'd been dating for almost 3 years at this point.