Hello everyone, I am new to this forum. This will be a bit of a long post, so please bear with me.

The situation is that I have been in a stable, committed and loving relationship with a man for 10 months now (I am 23 and he is 31). We live in the same city (not together), but none of us are originally from this area. I moved here to go to university five years ago, and he moved here for university 12 years ago.

I graduated from my course a few months ago, and now I am in a bit of a strange limbo-state. I have a full time job, but I don't see myself working in that place a year or two from now. Basically I want to do some more courses, and I have decided that a distance-learning will be the best option for me. I am planning to start the course by April at the latest, and I will be working while studying, and this should take about a year. I am not really too fussed about what sort of job I have while studying, as it will only be for about a year, as long as it pays the bills.

Since we started dating, my boyfriend has said that he wants to find a new job as his current job is making him very stressed and unhappy. A few months ago he said that he feels that the options are a bit limited in the town we currently live in, and that he thinks he should start looking outside of this city. He says the only thing that makes him a bit reluctant to move is that he has all his friends here, and that he feels settled.