+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Breakup advice

Breakup advice

Well, I was dating this girl for close to a year and it was amazing. Since the past couple of months I have had some family matters that had to take precedence over the relationship, which resulted in her feeling alienated and abandoned. I did not want to project my stress and negativity onto her. We did meet and talk however I knew she felt it. I am convinced she is the love of my life and being 29 I have some experience in that area. I would normally accept the breakup and try to move on.
    This time however I felt that the relationship has just lost steam and is not dead. We did meet up 2 days after the breakup and I told her what I felt, she did not respond either ways and said we'll talk.
    Then we decided to talk in 2 weeks time but she stood me up on some flimsy grounds. I did not know what she meant and just wrote her an email with what I had to say. Since then I haven't spoken to her or been in touch. She did say she wants to talk. I don't want to pressure her or smother her but the fact is I love this girl to death. The whole time with her was bliss and its like I don't even know any other girls apart from her when I'm with her.

I don't know if I should pursue her or just dig a hole in my heart?

Give her some space, you don't want to harrass her, see if she contacts you within a fortnight and if she doesn't then pluck up the courage and initiate contact again.

Normally I would say signs indicate she isn't all that interested, it doesn't look too optimistic but you claim she's the love of your life and I'm a sucker for romance so don't give up easily and just yet.