+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Single mother advice please....

Single mother advice please....

So I am a single mom of a perfect eleven year old girl- I'm 31 and I am new to the dating scene. Yesterday a guy (looking 23- yikes) came up to me at the store and handed me his digits after bumping into him and making small talk in a few of the aisles. My problem is that my daughter wasn't with me and how in the hell do I bring up the fact that I am a mom!? What is the best way to present that to someone? Obviously not when he is initially wanting your number...."hey, btw, I am a momma".....I just don't know when or how to approach the subject when dating someone who doesn't yet know me. What do you guys suggest??? And am I too old to be dating a 23 year old (hot!) guy???

girl68 is offline little person, big mouth
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    I do think you're too old to date a 23 yr old guy. But props on being a single hot mother obviously.

However if you decide to proceed for whatever reason I think that when you speak to him on the phone and he's asking you out mention something about finiding a babysitter because you're not sure if you told him or not... but you have a daugther... Likely unfortunately I don't think he'll be interested after that...

I agree, unless he's some sort of alien 23 year old he's probably not looking for a package deal right now. I know even at age 30 the package deal I'm in is hard but I couldn't have done it at 23.

Its not like you have to warn him like you are looking to get married tomorrow or looking for a daddy but its important obviously for everyone to know what your deal is. I don't know if you are only looking for a POA or a relationship or what. If its a sex only thing I'd say keep your daughter 100% out of the picture. Get busy with him at his house only. She doesn't need to know and I wouldn't bring him around her if thats the case.