+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Have I been a fool to wait all these years? What should I do?

Have I been a fool to wait all these years? What should I do?

First I will admit that I feel a little embarassed about my situation. I've always kept my emotions and feelings inside. Second, this has been going on for an extended amount of time so I feel in order to gain the best advice I need to explain the situation fully. Please I know it is a lot to take in, but I am in desperate need of advice and help.

The best way to describe her is smart, kind, beautiful, mature, outgoing and the life of the party.

I'm more laid back, smart, mature, handsome (as I have been told) and a "Southern Gentleman."

Back in college, I graduated in 2007, I met a very dear friend early my sophmore year. It was almost imediately that we became best friends. We clicked right away and were always together. It was as though we were always meant to be together. We could read each other's minds. It wasn't long before I developed more than friendship feelings for her. This is where my troubles started.

Being shy about expressing my feelings towards others, I never could bring myself to tell her how I felt about her. I was scared that since we had become such close friends that by telling her my true feelings I would alienate our friendship and make her feel uncomfortable. I was also scared that I would hurt her and I couldn't live with myself if I did.
    Before I knew it she was dating the biggest losers in school who did nothing but use and abuse her. After she started realizng her first boyfriend wasn't treating her as she should be treated. She came to ask my advice, which I reluctantly gave (considering my own feelings for her). She soon broke up, thankfully.