+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just got my first card ever.... Advice?

Just got my first card ever.... Advice?

I'm 19 years old, college student (just finishing freshman year) and looking to build credit. I have no idea how to check my score, but I just applied for the discover student card and got approved. They gave me a $500 line to start, and zero APR for the first 6 months. After that, its about 21%. I have about 9K in student loans at this point, and am paying only the interest on my non-subsidized portion, which is about 5k. I live in Oklahoma.

So the question is, what is the best course of action to increase my credit score?

I'm very disciplined and motivated, and make a pretty good income given the fact that I'm a full time student and only 19.
    Also, I wondered if anyone could give me the technical info on my score... like what the actual formulas are for the calculation, if that's available to consumers, and if so, what ratios are they looking for? It seems if one knew the ratios, with a little time on excel you could literally make every decision perfect - that is give them exactly what they want to see.

Looking forward to replies!

Um, I think you got bad directions to Financial Forum. That's not what we do here. Do you have a relationship question?
    Spammer Spanker

It's the off topic forum though, I have seen worse, lol.

Pay it on time, every time - late payments aren't an option. Time is the only way to build it and it takes a while, but one mistake can undo a decade of work. I don't like credit cards, they have always been synonymous with trouble. I have a solid score for my age and all I did was finance motorcycles. Its a shitty deal because I could pay the bike off, but doing so doesn't help my credit score. The longer it runs, the more it affects the score, generally.