+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Long Relationship Question ):

Long Relationship Question ):

My boyfriend and I have been dating for two months. We met online and talked for about a month before we met in person. He lives three hours away, but we both go to college right here where I live. He had already been attending the college and is graduating in December, whereas I am a freshman. Two months may be a short time, but I feel very much in love with him.

About a month ago when we first started getting physical is when I first felt that I was falling in love with him, but I did not tell him because I thought it was too soon and he probably did not feel the same for me yet, but one night we were being very close and it slipped out in the heat of the moment, “Do you love me?”

He went on a lengthy speech and basically said, “No, love means something very special to me, I care about you very deeply, but I cannot say that I love you.” This was fine, I mostly expected this and felt stupid more than anything else so this passed and there were no awkward feelings.

About a week ago though, I brought it up again. My feelings had only been getting stronger and I was getting scared of December. When he graduates, he will apply for jobs here, where he lives, and in another state where he has a few family members, which is ten hours away. It hurts me to think that he could accept a job in this ten-hour-away state where he realizes that he will never see me. Even if he accepted a job in his hometown that is three hours away, we would rarely see each other. So about a week ago, I told him how I felt. I told him I loved him and all of my fears.

This was not taken well and he basically said to my face that if he was only offered a job in the ten-hour-away state, he would take it even though he knows he would never see me. I was hurt and fled the scene in tears.