I am a 22-year-old Biology graduate student. I grew up in the Mid Atlantic, then moved to New England for four years for undergraduate work (taking a semester to study in the UK), and recently moved to the Midwest for a two year Master's program. When I finish my Master's degree in 2012, I'm going to move again for a five year Ph.D. After that, I will move again for any number of post-docs, and then again to get an assistant professor job. Assuming I'm able to get tenure, I can't envision any scenario in which my education will allow me to settle in one place for the long term until I'm 31. This has been the pattern for the post-docs I work with now, so I have no reason to believe that my anticipated career timeline is exaggerated.

I wanted to know whether any other women in academia on this forum would be willing to speak about how their education and career decisions have impacted their relationships and family lives. There are many women in science, I've wanted to teach at the university level for five years, I've been very successful in school and in research, and I do not want to give up on my academic goals for anyone. But at the same time, I'm worried about the effect my choices might have on my personal life. It is equally important to me to have a long term relationship and a family. I don't understand how people in general manage to hold together relationships while so much moving is going on, and I don't understand how women in particular manage the physical stresses of pregnancy while they are completing their dissertations, publishing often as post-docs, and going up for tenure as assistant professors.