+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My Teenage Dream

My Teenage Dream

I have had an on-going relationship of sorts with this guy (let's call him John) for over five years now. It started when I was a freshman in high school and he asked me to our school's Christmas dance. Of course, I was still fourteen years old at the time and John was already eighteen, so my mom only allowed me to meet up with him at the dance. Nonetheless, after that night I was smitten.

Besides intense chemistry and sexual tension (that was noticed by all), nothing ever happened between us that year. On his graduation night, however, I gave him a letter that I had written describing my feelings and how much I liked him, etc, etc (so cliche). He politely sent me a message back telling me that he thought I was beautiful, but that we couldn't date because he was going off to college and he was one of my brother's closest friends (I failed to mention that). He promised that we would remain friends, and that it wouldn't be awkward.

John kept his promise. Throughout my high school career and his college life thus far, we have remained friends. We've had varying degrees of contact and always talk for a while when we run into each other over breaks. The chemistry is unyielding. For the past year and a half or so, John and I both experienced our first real relationship. I started dating a guy a year younger than me right after graduation, and we stayed together all through my freshman year. We recently broke up due to extreme immaturity issues on his part (including cheating), and I was heartbroken. John had a very similar experience with a girl his own age at his college. She also broke up with him, and he is just now deciding that he's tired of being in her back pocket and wants to move on.