+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Maybe I should breakup...

Maybe I should breakup...

Hi guys.

Yeah, I know this isn't really something that I should let others decide but still I'd hear your opinions for fear of doing something terribly wrong.

I'm a freshman at a very good university in my country and since I've joined my life has changed quite a bit. When I was in high school, I used to be a popular kid, I even led the students union and organised a few parties. Nevertheless, I got really bored of being a social person so I stopped that and during this year I haven't been too friendly to a lot of people so I tend to stick to my friends only, mostly. I don't mind this at all, I actually don't feel like getting to know that many people at the moment.

I've kept my high school girlfriend (we've been going out for three years) and we've been strong, we had some issues to start with but we're fine and we don't fight a lot. But now I have started to resent having a girlfriend: I don't really like to talk to her anymore (we usually talk about half an hour each day but I really never feel like doing it), I rarely look forward to having sex with her (not that it's bad, I just don't feel like it), we rarely go out (although I admit it's fun sometimes, if I'm feeling like it).

I have started to doubt whether I like her or not. The only thing I enjoy about being together with her is the friend component, having someone there when I need to talk about some serious stuff (mind you, I'm always there for her to). I really trust her with everything and I do care a lot for her.

Maybe I'm just a bit depressed with college difficulty, I haven't really been looking forward to anything as of late, except for being with friends and hanging out.

I could talk to friends about this but guys don't always have good advice on on lovey dovey stuff.

If I were to break up it would make her very sad and I don't really want that either...