+ Follow This Topic

Thread: I'm looking for a friend as anti-social as I am. Is this as unhealthy as I suspect?

I'm looking for a friend as anti-social as I am. Is this as unhealthy as I suspect?

Every once in awhile I get in a melancholy, lonely mood. So help me, I just posted an ad on Craigslist looking for a friend, and in the process I think I've discovered I need to re-define what a good friend should be. Instead of re-hashing everything, I'll just post the gargantuan ad and ask: How should I change the way I look at friendship?

------

Looking for a friend as anti-social as I am

As the title says, I'm looking for someone fairly antisocial who would like a new friend. Yes, that doesn't make a whole lot of sense, but, ah, bear with me here and I'll try to explain.

I'm a student at UT, twenty years old, I love being active but hate actually exercising, I like cooking but won't do it unless there's somebody around that I think will compliment me for it afterwards, I avoid studying like the plague and usually wind up getting a B+ in things because of my poor work ethic, and I love video games and fan-fiction but have never, ever, ever admitted that to anyone. Not family, previous girlfriends, strangers on the bus, no-one. Mainly because of vanity. The vanity that compels me to say that that I am a thin, but not emaciated man who practices great personal hygenie and who has no problem getting a date with a girl who is at least a conventional "7" given about a week of time even though I really like video games and fan-fiction. Now, I think that most of you won't believe me when I say this because, after all, I am posting on Craigslist, but I'm not very socially awkward at all. No, really - I just REALLY have trouble finding people that I (1) can actually be myself around and (2) that I want to hang out with for an extended period of time. This is mostly my fault. I'm a introverted guy - that is, I enjoy big groups and parties on occasion, but they really drain