+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to become a better me and heal properly?

How to become a better me and heal properly?

Hi all,

The reason I’m here is because I’m still trying to get myself back together 10 months after breaking up with my ex-gf of almost 1,5 years. It was my first long-term relationship and I’ve never had such an intense connection with someone. I’m a 25 year old student and was 23 when we started dating.

I realize I had a lot of shortcomings and made big mistakes in my relationship that have contributed for a great deal to us breaking-up. I feel bad about myself, I feel a total fail, still, after all this time, and I feel like I am not able to make another person happy, which makes me feel a failed human being and utterly sad.

That is way I came to this forum. I read through Mariposa81’s forum about her getting back together with her ex-bf and eventually breaking up, and I saw the amazing support she got there from you guys, and how helpful that venting all of it was for her and kept her going during the difficult times. I have felt really helpless and hopeless lately, almost resorting to the state I was in right after the break-up (= semi-depressed, not motivated to work, not motivated to see friends, closed off to possible new relationships). My goal to post here is to learn from my mistakes, start to feel a better about myself again and ultimately I really want to grow as a person.

I want to let you guys know that I’m a pretty complex and maybe a bit weird person but I sincerely hope you guys could to some point empathize with me and I would appreciate that a lot. I will also be completely honest with you, even though I am ashamed of quite a bit of things and feel like a failure about a big part of my failed relationship. But I’m going to be honest because I think ultimately that’s the only way to finally face my problems and grow.