+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What is Love?

What is Love?

Hello all. I just signed up cuz I too need a good place to vent and even some advise here and there. I'll post my story later, but for now, my main dilemma is I'm even sure what love is. I've been with the same girl for 15+ years, but about 7 months ago, I think I fell in love with this girl at work I say I think I fell in love with her because the feelings I have for her are the same I had for my high school sweetheart, but I've only ever felt this way for 2 people so far. So my questions are:

What is love?
    How do people know they love someone?
    How do they know they DON'T love someone?

Maybe I have a very obscure view of love, so just want to see what other people say. For me, love is devoting my life to making someone happy; doing anything to make her want to stay; giving up things so she can have what she wants; hurting myself (emotionally) when I hurt her. I've only had a handful of relationships, most lasting 6 months or less, and like I've said before, I've only ever felt this way about 2 people, and not one of those is my wife. Obviously, very confused and need insight. Thanks in advance.

When they don't cheat on their significant other of 15+ with a floosy at work. Get your priorities in line, man...
    Brought to you by Dating With Devon!

Quote Originally Posted by Lovehearts View Post
    When they want to spend time together and enjoy each others interests. Show each other new things and explore things together. When you don't love someone, you don't want to do those things.
    Lovehearts, interesting. Well, now that I think think about it, we never really did enjoy each others interests - she likes to stay home and inside and read and I like to go out and do things and not be home; home is boring. We did enjoy spending time together in the beginning, but i think that's because neither one of us wanted to be alone.