+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Seven weeks and worse than ever - please help

Seven weeks and worse than ever - please help

So, I will try to keep this as brief as possible.

I met a girl who changed everything for me two and a half years ago; she put light in my life where that had not been any before, she changed my hopes, my goals, my dreams, she conquered my fears, she made me a better person. And we were blissfully in love for around 12 months. The night we got together after months of trying to deny our attraction (she wanted to travel and I was studying for a Masters, so tied to one place), I climbed through her bedroom window and told her I could never again wake up and not be beside her. We were passionate, caring, completely into one another to the extent that nothing and nobody else in the whole world mattered as long as we were together.

I finished my Masters in July of 2010, and after much debate we decided to move back to the U.K., where we are both nationals. We hated it there and for eight months, we lived with parents as we saved every penny we could earn to return to the place where we had met and fallen in love. But soon after realising that dream, she told me the past had killed us, and that she was no longer in love with me. This absolutely destroyed me, because although I know we had not been as happy, I believed in this with such total conviction that I had vowed never to give up and to keep fighting in the knowledge that when things settled down, we would be golden again.