+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Advice for dating a good friend

Advice for dating a good friend

If anyone has any experience with this or any other advice, it would be greatly appreciated. I am a male college student, and one of my good friends (a girl) from home (who is also a college student, at a different school) and I have been friends for about 8 years. We aren't best friends, but we are very good friends who hang out with the same group and really enjoy each other's company. Just recently while home for break we began talking, and we both found out that we have been practically in love with each other for a very long time without either of us being aware of the other's feelings. So now we both know how we feel and we have kissed a few times (but we still haven't told the rest of our mutual friends), and for now we are both back at our respective schools but both would like to become more than friends (probably when we get home for the summer and can see each other). Does anyone have any experience with this? Many people say that dating a good friend is a bad idea, but I feel that we are both in love with each other and want to make it work. Does anyone have any advice on how to do this while avoiding the problems that are normally associated with dating a good friend? I think we both want to be something more, we're just not sure what the best way to do it is since we have been friends first. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks everyone.

Junket is offline -
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    It always seems like a good idea at the time.

i suppose it could work. it's always a chance, you never know what's going to happen next but that's life. if you like each other than get to know each other more. hang out more. if it doesn't work it doesn't work. at least you took a chance.