+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Am I wasting my time or asking for too much? Really need male perspective...

Am I wasting my time or asking for too much? Really need male perspective...

My bf and I have been dating for two years. I am two years older than him (26) and coming into this relationship, I was upfront and honest about what I was looking for. I told him that I was looking for someone to possibly settle down with and he said he felt the same way. I graduated from college recently, and he's still attending with 1.5 yrs to go. We both live at home, due to the fact that campus is incredibly close to our houses it was pointless to move away, and we thought it would be a smart move so that we could save money for our future. I work and intern, and he works and goes to school part-time. I see him once a week, for about five to six hours.

He says that he does not have much free time, yet lately he's been hanging out more and more with his friends ( and does not invite me). I'm not worried about what he's doing, but I'm bothered that he's able to somehow make free time for them but not for me. And when he is around me, he falls asleep or gets sick. I understand that every relationship has their ups and downs, but it always seem like I get the down part. I expressed my desire to move forward with our relationship and try to move in together at least, that way we could see each other more often. But he says he can't afford it. If I ask him, "how about we go to a nice restaurant and movie?" again, he says he can't afford it.