+ Follow This Topic

Thread: To Move-Out or Not to Move-Out

To Move-Out or Not to Move-Out

Hi,

I've 24 years old and have been with my boyfriend since I was 19. For a long time, we did long-distance. We met each other after we'd chosen our respective colleges, and so he went to school in the south and I went to school in the north. But we worked hard to see each other, him flying or me flying maybe once every couple months. His was an accelerated program, so by my senior year he was home, and during that year we lived together. After that, with me trying to find a job post-grad and everything, I went home and he lived alone for a while. Then I decided to move in with him again and try to find a job near where he was if I could. I did, and we've been living together since, for about 7 months now, not counting last summer when I went back home to help my family out with our business. (I work in a school, summers off).

SO. Lately I've been having these feelings like I might want to move out. I still really love him, and things are actually really good. I even really like living with him. I can't really complain about any nasty boy habits or anything. Well, maybe dirty clothes everywhere, but anyway. I just feel like I've been with him for so long, and I even lived with him through part of college. I feel this kind of yearning to get out on my own a little bit. Take care of myself. He's done such a good job of taking care of me throughout our relationship that I feel like I've come to depend on him too much. I guess I just always thought I'd been more of an independent girl, and here I am basically living a susie-homemaker lifestyle at 24.

Again, I really want to stress that I still really love him. Right now I can't see anything wrong with our relationship that would make me want to move out. He's literally my best friend.