+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Meeting Your Girlfriends Parents For The First Time?

Meeting Your Girlfriends Parents For The First Time?

Alright, I know this shouldn't be as big of a deal that I'm making it out to be. But, tomorow my girlfriend want me to meet her parents for the first time. The problem is I'm a really shy person, and I'm not good at meeting new people. She just want me to come to her door and meet them when I pick her up. So how should I go upon this. How should I start the convo, when thy come to the door. What are the do and do nots?

I was thinking something like this..
    Ring the bell..
    parent answer: me, hey, is "gfs name" home?
    then I'm guessing they'll say something like yes, you must be her boyfriend, I'm "parent" nice to meet you.
    then that's when I say nice to finally meet you "gf last name"

Something like that. Like i said I'm really shy so I'm not good in these situations.

What do you think? Any help would be great!

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    I think if you are the first to speak, it would be better to introduce yourself. "Hi, I am (g/f's name) friend, chailli. You must be her dad. It's nice to get to meet you. Is she home yet?"

You will certainly be expected to carry on at least a brief conversation, so be prepared to discuss something else. "(G/F) says you are a great runner" or "I understand you work at ___________. How long have you been there?" They will definitely ask you something about yourself. Do NOT give one word answers. For example, if they ask if you are a student, you might tell them what you are studying, and what you plan to do once out of school. If they ask about your job, find something positive to say about it. (They will not be amused if you come off as a lazy, no-good bum who has no goals and hates working.)