+ Follow This Topic

Thread: In a 4 year relationship, and I think its time to get out - sorry its so long!

In a 4 year relationship, and I think its time to get out - sorry its so long!

I've never done this before so I'm feeling a bit strange, but I'm really desperate. Hopefully you guys can find the time to answer my ridiculously long and complicated question.

I've been with my boyfriend for over four years, I'm turning 20 and he's 23. When we first met and started dating I was obviously quite young and I guess I was really excited by this older guy who seemed interested in me. Over the years he's disappointed me a lot, not that I've been perfect myself. But he has dragged a lot of things out, such as he hasn't met any of my family apart from briefly bumping into my dad once (my mum hates him because of this), and he hasn't met any of my friends. He says all this is because he hasn't sorted out everything in his life yet, such as financial problems. This has been a continuing issue in our relationship and it makes me feel like I don't actually have a boyfriend most of the time.

He hasn't told his own family about me because they are very traditional Hindus, and because I come from a Muslim background, I would be deemed unacceptable. He promised he's going to tell them on his next visit to see them. I have no idea how that will turn out. Also, before he got his car, he couldn't even be bothered to get a few buses to come see me, so I would do most of the travelling so we could spend time together. And this meant we could only see each other once a week. Now that he has a car, he suddenly wants to see me more often, but I'm being pulled in so many different directions with university, family and friends that its become difficult. I've told him he can see me more often if he'd meet my family and friends, because then he can come out with us, but he just goes all strange when I suggest it.