+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Passive agressive vs vengeful how do you stop hurting each other?

Passive agressive vs vengeful how do you stop hurting each other?

I've always thought that being passive agressive, people were the type to just calmly but purposely slip in insults into everyday conversation. However if the accusations against me are true, then it's actually more of a case of foot in mouth disease. I'm not at all a hostile person, I try very hard to treat people with respect, but that doesn't mean I'm stupid or that I lack the ability to censor myself. If you do something someone with less tact would call you stupid for doing, I'll simply be less rude about it and say something to the effect of 'that wasn't a very well thought out plan.'

Sometimes however I simply don't think about what I'm saying before I say it, especially if I feel at ease and comfortable with the person I am speaking with. The one example I cringe about the most happened back when I was a freshman in high school. I was doing some janitorial work after school with one of the teacher's daughters one evening, and we were having one of those typical dramatic teenybopper conversations, and I with all the sincerity in the world, and thinking only about the good side of the message I was trying to get across said "You know if you were beautiful all the guys in school would be lining up to be your boyfriend because you are just so cool."