+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Girlfriend and I have to break up because her parents think she is too young

Girlfriend and I have to break up because her parents think she is too young

Hi! I am new to this forum and my name is Aaron.

I am 21 years old and I recently dated this amazing girl for almost 2 months (now broke up) and I cannot express how much I like her.
    The problem is that her parents think that we are too young to date but I am not entirely sure if that is the real reason behind, or maybe they simply just didn't like me? As yes, I am 21 and my girlfriend is 20, still relatively young, but one would think that it is normal for adolescents at this age to start dating?
    And my now ex-girlfriend mentioned that it would probably be fine when she grows older (by that, her parents probably mean either when she reaches 24 or when she graduates) I am just wondering if it would be futile to wait for her till then?

I am an international student, so by the time I graduated, I am not sure if I could stay to get a job and even if I were to get a job, I am not sure if we would be close to each other in terms of location, even provided if our friendship still remains strong.

Just wondering if I could hear some other people's opinions or just simply some encouragement to make it easier for me to wait. Cheers!

Aaron, you've got an Aussie flag there....but this is totally unheard of in Australia. Is the woman you're referring to Australian?

Anyway, without more info, my gut feeling says that if a girl is still monopolised by her parents when she's 20, then they will always be a problem. I suggest you view this as a warning rather than a hurdle to overcome.
    Never regret anything that has happened in your life. It cannot be changed, forgotten or undone. So, take it as a lesson learned and move on.