+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Girlfriend broke up. Chances? No contact?

Girlfriend broke up. Chances? No contact?

Hello,
    I hope someone here can help me, I'm 23 and my first girlfriend in my life broke up with me last monday. We were almost together for 2 years, I really fell in love with her over this time and I'm devastated she broke up with me, I've cried for 3 days and had uncormfortable heartbeating / high pulse; still experiencing painful downs every day.. I guess many know how it feels..

A bit about me and why I think our relationship failed.. I'm not good dealing with other people in general, and I'm not good at just being who I am. To this day I have a single best friend which I had for many years who is one of the few people I can just be myself with. I'm studying and at university I kind of have one/two friends, but in the end they don't really fit me and we don't really talk outside of university. I'm a very silent person and usually only talk to others when they talk to me, but I am or try my best to be friendly. I really don't talk much or don't know what to talk about and have quite different hobbies from most people, so I just keep silent.
    Anyway, my girlfriend was one of the few people who shared similar intrests and I've always tried my best to make her feel as comfortable as possible, because I was so scared to lose her..
    But I realize now that she was really right when she broke up with me, she told me she thought about us for many weeks and came to the conclusion that it just wouldn't work out with us.
    I was too scared to lose her all the time, because I was not confident in myself. Everytime I thought about her I thought how lucky I am, a person like me being together with her. I realize this was wrong, it kept me from being myself, the guy she wanted to date, many times. We got to know each other in university in a common lecture where I had 2 friends I could talk with normally, mostly being myself.