+ Follow This Topic

Thread: How do I communicate better with my boyfriend?

How do I communicate better with my boyfriend?

I am not good at talking and I know this. I am also aware that communication is part of a relationship. For the past few days things have been tense between me and my boyfriend because I don't open my mouth and talk to him. Few examples: I'll go to my neighbors house and won't ask him if it's ok or if he has anything planned. I seem to just go off and do things without going to him first. I guess he just had enough yesterday because he sat up half the night screaming and cursing at me. He also says that I act too tough and manly and it feels like I'm challenging him. He will get upset and tell me he is going to "**** me up". And I always laugh at him and say "whatever, you say the same thing everyday. We both know you won't and can't". But I mean that's just how I am and I don't back down to anyone. It's confusing though because last night when once again he was supposedly gonna "**** me up" I just kept my mouth shut and that pissed him off even more.

The start to better communication would be to realise that it's *not all about you*. To be a good partner, you need to be considerate your partner's feelings - and act accordingly.

It's unfortunate that he was screaming and yelling at you over your behaviour. A far better response would have been to reserve his dignity and simply dump you.
    Never regret anything that has happened in your life. It cannot be changed, forgotten or undone. So, take it as a lesson learned and move on.

Quote Originally Posted by "basilandthyme" View Post
    The start to better communication would be to realise that it's *not all about you*. To be a good partner, you need to be considerate your partner's feelings - and act accordingly.

It's unfortunate that he was screaming and yelling at you over your behaviour. A far better response would have been to reserve his dignity and simply dump you.