+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Finally ready to be with somebody

Finally ready to be with somebody

Hi everybody,
    First I want to apologise if my words are a bit incoherent or if I've posted this in completely the wrong place, this is my first time talking/posting in a forum of any type so please bear with me.
    So basically I have been single my whole life by my own choice and doing, purely for the reason of being alone and not in anyway to lead a bachelor type lifestyle of going from woman to woman. Up until maybe a year or so ago I identified as being Asexual, I was almost completely without any emotional or physical desire for anybody.
    I think being Asexual was predominately due to the psychological difficulties I've had since being a kid, which are Asperger's syndrome (specifically anxiety related) and ADD. Having these illnesses made me horribly anxious in many general situations such as playing with other kids and I subsequently became very isolated. Over time with help and guidance I have pretty much overcome all of the problems I used to have and am now a lot more confident and outgoing.
    As I mentioned before, I first noticed the shift in me being happy with remaining alone until just over a year ago when my best friend since childhood got married last summer. I then noticed the change significantly more when he and his wife had a baby who I am now godfather to. When they brought him home from the hospital for the first time and visited them at their home, seeing them all together like that, happy, loving and content made me feel like a switch had been flipped inside my brain and a warmth spread out in my chest. Since then I just feel that I'm ready to find somebody to share my time and life with, devote to and make happy everyday and forever.
    But obviously being single till now means that I have no experience with being in relationships and am still a virgin. Because of this I've been very nervous to put myself out there and start dating.