+ Follow This Topic

Thread: tricky college dating scenario

tricky college dating scenario

Hi, this is long, so be prepared. I'm madly in love with this girl that I almost dated, Kate, we've been great friends since August. We attend the same college. She is a freshmen and I'm a sophomore. We met through a mutual friend that we've both known for years, Molly. We have the same circle of friends that we hang out with and we've gone to concerts and road trips with these friends over the course of the last several months. It didn't take long for me and Kate to connect on many personal levels we both are very passionate about music, same sense of humor, similar hobbies, etc. In fact a few months back she told me that she had never met someone so similar to herself before. After being friends for about 2 months Molly had accidentally told Kate that I liked her, Kate approached me and said that she just wanted to be friends. Initially I was upset and a bit hurt, but with the passage of a few days I accepted it and things went back to normal. But slowly me and Kate grew closer and closer, and it confused me a bit because she began to say things that seemed to show interest like "I love your sarcasm it makes my day", "never change", "I like sharing my favorite things with you". I knew something was up so I confronted her about it, she admitted that she always missed me when I wasn't around and was beginning to develop feelings for me. We were only "talking" for a few weeks and one night when we were watching a romantic film she felt sick and left directly after it was over, she proceeded to text me saying that we weren't going to work and that she just wants to be friends. We talked it out in person a few days later and she said that "we had to try or we would never know if we were right for each other" but that she just didn't feel the same way, and that she was trying so hard. Her head and heart were telling her different things, she knows I would treat her right but she