+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sharing chores

Sharing chores

I have no idea how much background info to give to put this in the right context. I could write a book; so instead, I guess it might be easier to get questions if necessary.

I'm male, and have a female partner. We've been together nearly two years. She lives with me part time, and now is ready to move in with me full time. My main concern is that she has yet to offer to help with any household chores or even cooking. I do all the cooking if we stay in, and since it's my own house, I do all the chores and house projects. She lives in a small apartment shared with a relative.

So, I don't know what a reasonable time-frame is that a partner would begin helping with house chores. In my mind it seems like it should have begun by now, but to her, maybe she thinks she will start after she moves in full time. My fear is that there is already a routine established and she may never offer to do any chores. That isn't something I would be good with, so I'd rather discuss it before a permanent move happens.

Questions:
    1. How does one say to another; Hey, can you start helping with chores around here? (without causing the other to get defensive)

2. Am I wrong to be thinking it's been long enough that she should have already offered to help?

Thanks for any insight and suggestions.

Let me start with your second question. You say that she has thus far with you "part time." Can you define exactly what that means? I just ask because that can kind of change how I may answer. If part time means she's usually not staying at your place, but does from time to time, then I would say you probably shouldn't expect her to pitch in on the chores during then. I mean, for one thing, one would hope and assume she would be splitting chores at her own place.