+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crossroads.

Junket is offline -
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"

Crossroads.

I'm going to post this in the general forum because we have members that don't have access to our other forum that I wouldn't mind hearing opinions from.

I would also like to reiterate to those who know her name, to respect our privacy and not use it here.

This is more reflective than anything else because well...I think the advice I'd give myself is the similar to what I'd expect to hear from you guys.

Some of you may remember a number of incidents me and my girlfriend had in the past months, and the one reoccurring theme was "do we both want the same thing?".

A quick recap for those that don't know:
    She just turned 27, and I just turned 23.

She has a bachelors, and I have a highschool diploma.

She's from a small town in Texas, I'm from the city of Philadelphia.

She has a conservative, family oriented background, and I...well don't.

We met through our volunteer service back in 2005-06 and been exclusive since the end of 06 to present. Living together here in New Orleans since February of 08.
    She misses her family and is growing tired of the organization she works for, and I'm realizing that unless I get proper schooling and that "paper", I'm going to have trouble moving up in the electrical trade.

Neither of us want to stay here, but neither of have a great enthusiasm to move to the other's home ground. New Orleans was a good neutral because we were both familiar with the city, had the kind of work we both like, and we have mutual friends and contacts here.

We've looked at other states and cities but I think moving to a strange city far from anything/anyone we're familiar with while trying to pursue our personal goals wouldn't be conducive to ourselves or our relationship.