+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Boyfriend is suffering from depression(?)

Boyfriend is suffering from depression(?)

Ok so heres the story. I've only been with my guy a month, known him just a bit longer than that. Recently i'm seeing a side of him I don't like at all and i don't know if i'll be able to stick around. He told me that a few years ago he suffered from depression after a bad breakup but it seems like its back. He won't go for help about it and instead he has started using me as his shrink. I don't know how many times ive had him crying over the phone to me about whatever has him down. Most of the time its absolutely nothing to be worried about. I was over at his last night. He wanted to prove to me he was back to his normal self...only it ended up with me being scared and just wanting to walk home at 2am. He kept muttering to himself about what an idiot he is and was hitting himself... I'm no expert on depression or mental illnesses but i know that is just not normal. when we first started dating he was just the perfect guy, really nice, caring and thoughtful, but i don't think i can handle this from him. This morning it was difficult to leave, i had to actually take the keys from him to get out of the house. He kept trying to say that he was going to get better and wanted me to forget this had happened, I've heard this all a few times now. I know how to take care of myself but i was actually getting really really worried about his behavior. What do i do? I feel so bad for him, im not sure he can take me leaving him, and i hate being in this position. Any easy way to get out of this? Its really stressing me out. I'm not long out of a bad relationship and all i wanted was a bit of light hearted fun. Any advice would be really appreciated.