+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Should I leave my boyfriend now before it's too late?

Should I leave my boyfriend now before it's too late?

My boyfriend and I have been together for almost a year now. We love each other a lot, have similar things in common, and get along really well. However, there is one major issue that has always been a conflict in our relationship. My boyfriend thinks it is wrong for me to go out clubbing or going to bars with my friends. (Before I continue, my boyfriend is always studying because he is premed, however my major is not as rigorous,meaning that I have more free time in my hands to go out.i am also turning 21 years old next month.)I on the other hand would not have a problem If he wants to go out with his friends because I trust him. I have had over a million conversations saying that he does not trust me or is insecure, but he just says that it's disrespectful for me to go clubbing when you're in a relationship. I worry that I'm doing the wrong thing staying with him. I love him a lot, and he makes me happy. However, going out with my friends clubbing or to bars also makes me very happy. Right now, I have not gone out with my friends drinking or clubbing because I know it will hurt my boyfriend. I do it because I care a lot, but I don't know if I'm letting him control me. I don't know if this is one of the sacrifices you make in a relationship. I was also asked by my friends to go on a cruise for my 21st birthday, but my boyfriend does not approve of it. I don't know if I should choose the right thing to do, or to choose what makes me happy. Many people will tell me to leave him, but he has made me more dedicated towards school and has helped me with my career goals. He has also treated me extremely well and has never tried to hurt me. He has also been there for me through everything. But I also have my friends who I use to go out clubbing with which he does not approve of. Please help me