+ Follow This Topic

Thread: So there's this girl (lengthy).

So there's this girl (lengthy).

Okay, so, first, a bit of background: I'm the classic shy introverted loser in pretty much every respect that matters. I'm also a college freshman living the dorm lifestyle. Last semester, my first semester here, I was vaguely depressed most of the time and so late at night or in the early hours of the morning I would wander the halls listening to music and thinking typical stupid depressing thoughts. I kept to myself; didn't really talk to anyone.

One night when I'm walking around I run into this hot girl who suddenly asks me, point-blank, whether or not I'm depressed, pining for my childhood and simpler days before college, because she's totally seen me walking around all the time. She kind of freaks me out, because that was EXACTLY what I was doing, right down to the pining; I was left with the kind of bizarre impression that she can see right through me. So I tell her no, I'm fine, and we exchange pleasantries and she leaves and I leave.

We met again some few weeks later; I stammered my way through a conversation and apologized for my weird sentence structure (I'm so cripplingly shy, especially around attractive girls, that I don't often make a lot of sense.) She said, "no, I -love- the way you talk, it's just like the way I write. Do you write?" And I said, yeah, I like writing, and she said, okay, cool, and left.

The next time, she asked me again about the writing thing and says that sometime she'd totally like to read my stuff. I tell her I'll have to give her the draft of this (shitty) novel I'm writing sometime; she says that sounds pretty great.