+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Go away to university or stay for a boy?

Go away to university or stay for a boy?

Ok hereeee's the problem.
    I have been with my boyfriend for almost 2 years and I really do love him to bits.
    Now I always used to say that I'd never let a man influence my decisions when it comes to my education, my work or what I want to do in general. However.. I'm feeling different at the moment.
    I have just finished my AS levels and I'm about to do my A levels, so I'm in my last year of sixth form college. I'm 17, 18 in November. My boyfriend is 21 and he's just starting back in college this year to do a two year course in catering because he wants to be a chef. He also works as a snowboard instructor.
    I'm meant to be going to university this time next year.. and I have to start applying soon.. and I don't know what the **** I'm going to do.
    I live in Swansea in Wales, and realistically I don't want to stay in Wales because I'm an independent person.. and I feel if I go to Cardiff it will be too close to home (even though it is a very good university).
    Not meaning to blow my own trumpet.. but I'm an intelligent well-rounded person and I know I can pretty much get into any university I want and study whatever I want.
    I think I want to go to Exeter to study English Literature, with a year of study in the United States.. but the only thing that's holding me back is I don't want to leave this guy behind. I've had quite a few fairly long term boyfriends.. and I know I wouldn't have worried about dropping them like a sack of shit to do what I want.. but I don't want to with this guy.
    I was thinking I could go to Cardiff, because as I said it is a very good University.. but I still don't know if that would work because he'll be busy with college.. I'll be busy with Uni.. we'll both have to work etc.