+ Follow This Topic

Thread: tiny houses

tiny houses

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-q3yrsTAJQ"]YouTube - Tiny Houses[/ame]

I just saw this story on CNN about tiny houses. These houses cost about 20,000 and they're probably about the size of my studio apartment (which would cost me about a ridiculous 300,000 or more to buy). They're also portable. The guy who designs them says that he did so because he was tired of being a "slave to space."

What do you guys think? Maybe after what's happened with our economy, there is going to be a new movement towards scaling down.
    Last edited by starbuck; 25-10-08 at 10:46 PM.
    “Inside every cynical person, there is a disappointed idealist”--George Carlin

bah I can't stand it. Personally I need a sense of space, I don't know maybe I'm mildly claustrophobic but I just can't do small spaces. No idea if this has to do with being taller tho.

That and I'm an artist by nature I love space for me to mess up while I let my creative juices flow.

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    I could probably do it if I lived alone and they were twice as big. I would need to have space to have people over for dinner and a normal bathroom.

Check these out: [url]http://www.designboom.com/contemporary/tiny_houses.html[/url]

I like the one on the water and the one in the tree (but I couldn't live like that).
    Last edited by vashti; 25-10-08 at 10:45 PM.
    Relax... I'll need some information first. Just the basic facts - can you show me where it hurts?

Those are really cool, Vash. I love the round "treehouse" in that pic. It kind of reminds me of the house in Sleeper, the Woody Allen movie. I could definitely see myself living in something like that if I were still single. I'd have to give up alot of my possessions though.