+ Follow This Topic

Thread: fear of losing interest in girlfriend

fear of losing interest in girlfriend

I know I had a similar post on this website earlier but this deals with a slightly different problem. For the past couple days I've had a strange lack of interest in hanging out with my girlfriend. We had a fight last wednesday and I think thats where this originates from, though this feeling of apathy really only came into being yesterday. This is a very abnormal situation for me as I generally feel like I could hang with my girlfriend all day every day, but suddenly I dont want to. I have some form of anxiety disorder, and I think this might be triggering this powerful reaction from me, but I thought I'd see what you people thought. Is it possible for me to momentarily lose interest in my girlfriend and is it normal? Any help would be appreciated, I'm feeling pretty horriffic as I do not want to end our relationship. I'm a complete novice at dating, and this is my first real girlfriend (I'm 18). I certainly hope it's just my anxiety acting up

Sadly this just happens sometime and if your feelings are changing then there is nothing you can do about it. Maybe suggest that you keep away for a couple of day and see if you miss her. If you don't then there is your answer. If you do then its ok
    The greatest thing you'll ever learn, is just to love and be loved in return.-Moulin Rouge!

Nothing wrong with spending a little extra quality time with yourself on the odd occasion.

Explain to her that you feel you need to hang out with yourself for a week or so... get to know yourself... even, explore yourself?

(But choose a different way to say it and definitely, with different wording...)