+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Missed opportunity from 6 years ago comes back to haunt me...

Missed opportunity from 6 years ago comes back to haunt me...

I'll start from the beginning, just to give a better idea of where I'm coming from.

It's 2003, and I'm in my second year at a junior college. Most of my classes are hands-on and taken in a building dedicated gunsmithing, machine shop, and CNC classes: the Engineering building. It just so happens that one of the secretaries in the building has a younger sister, Heather who's in her Senior year at the local high school.

On her lunch breaks, she likes to come by and sit and chat with some of us students. Being that I was the closest to her age (I was 20 and she was 18.), I guess felt she could identify with me better, thus, more interested in me. On top of that, we even seemed to connect well.

Naturally, some of the other guys liked give me a hard time about stuff, and just give me some friendly ribbing. Heather apparently takes notice of how sometimes I'm bothered by it. One day, I make my way out to my truck for something, and she runs after me, tells me that she likes me, and doesn't care what the other guys say about me. The conversation goes on for a few minutes, and ends with her suggesting that we go to a movie or a football game sometime. Of course, I agreed that it would be a fun thing to do.

For some reason, though, the act of her making the first move put me off. It was just so unsatisfying that, without me even trying to start something with her, going out with her was in my grasp...without me even reaching. It didn't feel rewarding because I didn't do anything to earn it but just carry on casual conversations with her. I expected more effort to be required, like her playing hard to get.

Anyway, regretfully, nothing ever happened. Since I became instantly disinterested from her making the first move, I.......I just didn't feel like making an effort.