+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is it over now? Do I move on?

Is it over now? Do I move on?

I live with a couple, Matt and Amy, who have been in a serious relationship for about 6 years. I am also in a serious relationship thats been going for 4 years with a guy called Tom. When me, Amy and Matt firsted moved in together, it was exciting. I'd never known them before and so it was a new friendship ready to be built. We quickly developed a good friendship and I really liked and trusted them both.

As Amy started a new job, she was out of the house a lot, leaving Matt to get on with his work. He worked at home and as I am a student [5 years younger] than him, we saw a lot of each other around the house. We talked a lot, had laughs and generally became really good, close friends over a period of 6 months. It was great! But, then things got complicated.

I had some troubles with my boyfriend. He hardly ever saw me... and Its probably because I was spending a lot of time with Matt, but Tom also spent a lot of time doing work at his house. He let me down a few times, saying he'd come see me, but didn't because he was too busy. I didn't feel great about our relationship at the time, but I figured; at least I can confide in my good friend Matt.

Before I knew it, I was relying on Matt, always talking to him about everything. I didn't realise that he was doing the same thing with me. If I remember rightly, I was giving off signals to him such as, when Tom, my boyfriend was over once I went downstairs to get a cuppa and Matt said to me. "are you ok?" to which i replied, "yes, just getting tom a cuppa tea..." as i looked down at my feet... it was a tiny, tiny signal that I understand had probably silently said "no im not ok, things are not good between me and tom".