+ Follow This Topic

Thread: i'm falling for a really depressed girl. looking for advise

i'm falling for a really depressed girl. looking for advise

I'm new to this but to start I'm 20 and the girl is 18. I'v known her for about 3 months now. It started as just friends but I'v been slowly developing strong feelings for her. Through our friendship I'v found out many thing about her. She cuts herself (claims she hasn't since we started talking), used to throw up after after every meal and not eat most days, and is really insecure in general. I know she likes me to at this point. I just also think she'll hide her feeling for me and deny it for one simple reason. Every man she has been with has caused her a great deal of pain and suffering and she'll do anything to keep from getting hurt again. I want to show her I'm different. I want to show her I truly care about her but I'm not sure how. She talks to me all the time and has even willing let me read her diaries that she claims no one else has read. I'm the only one she really has to talk to about her problems. I believe she'll want to keep me as a friend because she'll think she will lose me if things don't work out. I just want to know if there's anything I should do or say to show her how wrong she is and how much I care and worry about her.

I really want to be with her. she lights up my day in ways words can't explain. I'v just never been this emotionally involved with a girl prior to a relationship. I know what I want to say and will say. I'm just not sure how she will take it. She needs to know I'll love her no matter what and I will be there for her. More importantly, when I tell her I want her to believe it.

I know she likes me but at the same time she's convinced that she's driven away everyone that was close to her and thinks the same will happen with me. I'm sorry this is so long. I don't really know what kind of answer I'm looking for either. Maybe some advice or just your opinions. on the matter.