+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Am I being played/tested or is she interested?

Am I being played/tested or is she interested?

Okay, I'm new to this whole dating thing. I'm 28, have a great career, great family and friends, just completely clueless with relationships. I've recently developed an urge to connect with some people, for fun, no strings attached, although, my lack of experience does get the better of me. I'm extremely shy...

Anyhow, my best friend hooked me up with one of his friends from work. It was very abrupt and neither of us saw it coming. To make things worse (I think), my best friend told her first that he is hooking her up with me... He was very direct to her. Leading up to that however, he told her about my hobbies, my character, my looks, etc. I felt that she was almost obligated to respond to him with the "nice" answer, but in any case, she agreed to give it a try... The only thing is, she is as shy and as unexperienced as me (if not maybe even worse, because I think with guys like me, we don't mind doing things blindfolded sometimes...).

What's strange is, I've met this girl before about 5 months back for a coffee break with my best friend. We talked about a wide variety of worldly issues, and it was a nice chat. At that time, I don't think either of us really considered each other for dating (neither of us were in the dating mode, but on the turn of the new year, I did consider - so I was somewhat less shocked I guess?)).

Anyhow, this time around, the engagement is different. She added me to facebook, but she didn't say anything. I just sent her a hello and introduced myself, and she started responding back, started off with very short responses. We chatted a little more, and then she started writing longer and longer responses. I took this as a possible cue that she was interested in me knowing her better?