+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Parents not supportive of new relationship

Parents not supportive of new relationship

I apologize in advance for the lengthiness of this post.

I am a 25 year old female currently living at home with my parents (although very seriously looking to move out). I recently began a new relationship with someone I met a few months ago. He is wonderful. He treats me with respect and showers me with affection. When I am with him I am relaxed and happy. I can seriously see myself having a future with this man. The one problem: my parents do not support our relationship.

I have a master's degree and an excellent job in the medical field. He does not have a university degree or a professional job (although he does have a steady job with excellent pay). To me, this is not an issue. To my parents it is. They feel that I will end up supporting him and he will be a drain on me financially, simply because he is not a professional. I feel their opinions are highly unwarranted, as they don't know him and have no idea of the type of hard-working man he is. It has become such a big deal to them that they have basically said if I choose to continue this relationship I will be losing my relationship with them.