+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Partner has left due to my actions, now what?

Partner has left due to my actions, now what?

Hi all,new to the forum so please excuse any etiquette mistakes I may make!

My partner of two years has recently finished with me. He was probably right to do so. Our relationship started out well however I did unfortunately come with baggage. As I have done in many a relationship, I have essentially become verbally abusive. I am not proud of this and have obviously realised the effect of my actions. I was blind to this during our relationship and would like to clarify that it was never my intention. I am a clinical psychologist, ironic I know, and realise that the baggage I had resulted in me attacking my partner rather than dealing with my own issues. I was critical of him, controlling, and essentially he became less of a person through this. It sounds like he now, understandably, has lost his identity and no longer feels close to me. I always knew what buttons to press to Herson although I do not feel it was intentional although on some unconscious level I suppose it had to be my aim was to have a go

We have broken up on the number of occasions over the past two years, albeit, a few hours at a time. Each time i said i would change and obviously never have done. The lack of changes I made were not due to not trying or not wanting to change but looking back I did not get to the root of the difficulties but instead floated on the surface and therefore the abusive aspects of our relationship continued. I do believe that I am able to change, having now recognised where I have gone wrong and what my underlying issues are however my ex-partner is struggling to believe that that will be the case.

His view.