+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Should you start off as friends first?

Should you start off as friends first?

Hey, I'm just new to the whole dating stuff and I'm just wondering if someone could give me some solid advice. Any serious relationship advice would be appreciated really. I'm also hoping this will help other people who come across this and are a little confuse, or lost, like I kind of am at the moment. I have some questions that people may find silly, or very basic, but please bear with me because, like I said, I'm a novice at this. I just want to know what's appropriate for when I meet a special girl I really like and feel like I could spend eternities with. I've already somewhat dated I guess for 2 months, but realized that she probably isn't the one for me, though that's a whole 'nother story. Just seems like all this stuff is already confusing enough with varying opinions and many grey areas, but go for it:

Is it good to start off as friends before entering a relationship with someone?
    Is it bad to start off as friends because it will most likely throw you in the friendzone?
    Is it bad to text for a date, instead of calling or asking in person? (I think I already know the obvious answer to this, but details would be nice)
    What do you think you would do if the girl seemed to be placing the "friend" title on you when you guys go and do stuff exclusively, though she knows your intentions?
    How do you break the touch barrier?
    How to avoid coming off as creepy/desparate? (I know this is what a lot of shy guys fear)
    What usually leads to the friendzone?
    Is texting for dates after asking for the first date over the phone, or in person, acceptable?
    Tips for first dates?
    Is it okay to text a girl after getting her number and getting comfortable, before calling or something for a date?
    What if she wants to "bring a friend" onto what you were hoping was a date?
    How/where to meet girls tips?