+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Women who I think like or sort of like me bring up other men around me?

Women who I think like or sort of like me bring up other men around me?

I'm hoping you can help me understand what is going on here. A little background, I am a post-baccalaureate student who is returning to college for some science pre-req courses, so I am a little older than both of these girls, who are my lab partners in Biology and Chemistry respectively.

First girl: This is the girl I am most into. Early on in the lab class she emailed me because our other group members were not doing the work, and told me she wanted to prove that she could do her part, and since then she really has and I like that a lot. This girl is kind of a "diamond" so to speak amongst her peers.

Now, I get the impression that this girl likes me, but because she is younger, and also asian, I sometimes feel I have a difficult time reading her.

One curious behavior is that she will repeatedly bring up another guy when I'm with her. Literally or in speech. Here's an example:

We had to work on a presentation together last week. Although there are three in our group, we planned to meet just the two of us. So I get to the library and she comes in. She's dressed up really nice, IMO like you would be on a date, makeup etc. We go and sit down, she hands me her phone to show me a picture, we're talking, sitting next to each other, she's giving me big smiles ...

... and then about half an hour into it this guy shows up with a McDonalds bag and gives it to her. He introduces himself by name, NOT as her boyfriend, and then sits at the next table. I'm like 'WTF,' so as soon as we finish what we need on our project, I leave.

Fast forward to yesterday. The day of our presentation. She shows up, she has her hands full. She happens in conversation to say "that guy you met is who gave me a ride." She doesn't call him her boyfriend, and I don't know if he is.