+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I feel jealous and insecure and I'm not 100% sure if it's justifyable

I feel jealous and insecure and I'm not 100% sure if it's justifyable

I have a relatively new boyfriend. We both like each other very much and spend as much time as we can together, but he lives an hour away and we both have responsibilities, so we only see each other on the weekend.

We have a sexual relationship mostly but we also have newly fell in love, supposedly. It's still very new so I need time to build faith that this is really true. I know I love him in my definition of the word, but it has been unable to grow because I feel uncertain about him and I don't know why, it could be that there are things that give me pause or it could be from past experiences that make me doubt when someone says they love me.

For the most part though he makes me happy, but there are a few things that aggravate pre-existing insecurities.

I'm relatively new to relationships though I've had one that lasted several years, so I'm not sure how to deal with this variation. He has a lot of female friends, and that isn't what I have an issue with exactly, it's the things he's said to me.

One female friend was from his school and she kept asking him out or to go to get togethers with him. He said he kept saying no, then around halloween he went to one of her halloween parties then left, feeling like he was too old for it with all the scantily clad college freshman girls. But before that he told me he wasn't going to go. Also, he didn't invite me and he'd said it was because he didn't think I'd be able to come with my mom responsibilities.

That's one thing I dropped but it's still there if you know what I mean. Alone it's nothing.