+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Falling in love overseas

Falling in love overseas

All right, so I'm an American student living in Lhasa, Tibet. I am studying Tibetan here, but to make a little extra money on the side, I also tutor English. During our winter vacation, which runs from the end of December to the beginning of March, I tutored a really great Tibetan for a little less than two months. I know two months isn't a long time, but we spent at least four hours a day together for five days of the week, and more than once, we, and a couple other friends went out of town to visit monasteries and other historical places on the weekends.

It took a couple of weeks, but I started falling for him. Despite the communication barrier, we managed well, in a mix of Chinese, English and the dialect of Lhasa (he speaks a different Tibetan dialect).

Here's the thing, the signals between men and women here are different. Hand holding many times just means friendship, as do kisses on the cheek. However, I felt there was some mutual attraction. I don't usually trust me feelings, but later find out they were correct.

It is not uncommon here for a guy to lie, say he doesn't have a girlfriend, or isn't married, so that he can date another girl, not unlike the West. So, that is what this guy did. He kept saying he didn't have a girlfriend and wasn't married. In my desire to get the point across that I liked him, and knowing that the old adage, "the way to a man's heart is through his stomach" still works here, I learned how to make one of his favorite foods, a traditional soup made of yak meat and homemade noodles. The day I made it the first time, he ate, then told me he had a girlfriend, a Chinese woman, but that they weren't very compatible. He volunteered this information after claiming for over a month he didn't have a girlfriend.